IBM Support

Which Database properties are affected by a Design Replace or Refresh

Technote (FAQ)


Question

When you replace the Design of an existing database from a Lotus Notes client, which database properties are affected? Specifically, which database properties are inherited from the new Template?

Answer

TAB Setting changed by REPLACE DESIGN Setting changed by REFRESH DESIGN (as well as Design task)
BASICS

  • Type

Web Access:
  • Use JavaScript When generating pages
  • Require SSL Connection
  • Don't allow URL open
  • Allow use of stored forms in this database
  • Display images after loading
  • Allow document locking
  • Type

Web Access:
  • Use JavaScript When generating pages
  • Require SSL connection
  • Don't allow URL open
  • Allow use of stored forms in this database
INFO

N/A N/A
PRINTING

None None
DESIGN

Options
  • Allow design locking
  • Do not mark modified documents as unread (6.0.3/6.5 and above, but only when it has been enabled on the template. This is by design.)
  • Mark parent note on reply or forward

Inheritance:
ALL options, if option "Inherit future design changes" is selected during Replace Design

Multilingual Options: If Template is multilingual
Options
  • Do not mark modified documents as unread
  • Do not mark modified documents as unread (6.0.3/6.5 and above, but only when it has been enabled on the template. This is by design.)
LAUNCH

ALL options ALL options
FULL TEXT

N/A N/A
ADVANCED

Unread Mark Options
  • Don't maintain unread marks
  • Replicate unread marks

Advanced Options
  • Optimize document table map
  • Maintain LastAccessed property
  • Don't support specialized response hierarchy
  • Use LZ1 compression for attachments
  • Allow more fields in database
  • Allow soft deletions
Advanced Options
  • Optimize document table map
  • Don't support specialized response hierarchy


Note: There is an unrelated issue where the "Soft Delete Expired Time in Hours" setting is effected by the Design task. For more information on this issue see the following document:  

"Users Change Soft Delete Timeout but Documents Still Removed from Trash Folder after 48 Hours"
Document #: 1169807

Related information

Users Change Soft Delete Timeout but Documents Still Re

Cross reference information
Segment Product Component Platform Version Edition
Messaging Applications IBM Domino Designer Not Applicable 8.5, 8.0, 7.0, 6.5, 6.0 All Editions

Document information

More support for: IBM Notes

Software version: 6.0, 6.5, 7.0, 8.0, 8.5

Operating system(s): Linux, Windows, iOS

Software edition: All Editions

Reference #: 1176010

Modified date: 05 July 2011