IBM Support

IBM Content Navigator documentation: IBM Content Manager repository document versions might be affected by Box Share

Product documentation


Abstract

IBM Content Manager item types can be configured to always create, never create, or prompt the user to create a new version. Sharing a document might affect the version number.

Content

When you share a document, IBM Content Navigator updates the document’s hidden property that stores the share information, so the version of the document might be updated depending on the version policy that is configured for the item type. The following table describes each case where the version policy for the item type affects how the version of the document is changed.

Version policy When you update the properties of a document… When you share a document… When you delete the share on a document…
Always create: The document version is incremented once.

For example, when you update the properties of version 1, the current version of the document is changed to version 2.

Hidden properties are updated when you initiate the share, and when the share completes, so the document version is incremented twice.

For example, when you share version 1, the current version of the document is changed to version 3.
Hidden properties are updated when you delete the share, so the document version is incremented one more time.

For example, after you share version 1, when you delete the share, the current version of the document is changed to version 4.
Never create: The document version remains at version 1. The document version remains at version 1. The document version remains at version 1.
Prompt to create: The document version remains at the current version.

However, if you edit a document, check in the changes, and choose to create a new version, the document version is incremented once.
The document version remains at the current version.

For example, when you share version 1, the current version of the document remains at version 1.

However, when you edit version 1, check in the changes, and choose to create version 2, and then share version 2, the current version of the document remains at version 2.

The document version remains at the current version.

For example, after you share version 2, when you delete the share, the current version of the document remains at version 2.

For more information about IBM Content Manager item type version policy settings, see Version policy.

Document information

More support for: Content Navigator

Software version: 2.0.3.6

Operating system(s): AIX, Linux, Windows

Reference #: 7047331

Modified date: 31 December 2015


Translate this page: