IBM SPSS Statistics 21 runs fine but the default toolbar with the icons are lost on either Data Editor, Syntax Editor or Output Viewer. This can also happen for user-defined toolbars. The issue can either occur when logged in as administrator or when logged in as a restricted user but it does not happen on each installtion.
To explain why this behavior can happen sometimes for some users we need to first explain how Statistics store user preferences.
IBM SPSS Statistics is a Java application and user preferences are stored as Java user preferences. On Windows platforms, Java stores user preferences in the Windows registry. On other platforms they are stored differently. Regardless, we do not read or write directly to the Windows registry. Java has APIs that manage user preferences and those are what we use.
Preferences for different Major.Minor versions of our application are stored separately. There is no interaction of preferences between versions. Installing an additional version of our application will affect
registered COM interfaces used for Scripting but these are not user preferences. Even for the same Major.Minor version, installing and uninstalling will not add, remove or modify user preferences. Our
installers know nothing about user preferences.
We allow users to run multiple sessions of the same version of our application simultaneously. In fact, this is necessary when running certain features such as the Production Facility. Beginning with Statistics 21, we
manage user preferences for each session separately so that changes to user preferences in one session do not affect other running sessions. This is done by making a working copy of the persisted user preferences when a session starts. The working copy is used during the session and when the session ends, the working copy is written back to the persisted user preferences. Knowing this, it is easy to imagine scenarios where the
sequence of starting and stopping sessions becomes important.
User begins session A, which uses a copy of the persisted user preferences.
User changes preferences for session A.
User begins session B, which uses a copy of the same persisted user preferences copied by session A.
User changes preferences for session B.
User ends session A, which writes its working copy to the persisted user preferences.
User ends session B, which overwrites the changes to user preferences written by session A.
User begins session C, which uses a copy of the user preferences written by session B.
User is maybe confused depending on expectations.
Also, if a session crashes or is terminated abnormally (terminated using the Task Manager, for example) any changes to user preferences will be lost. The working copy will not be written back to the persisted user
Toolbars are saved as part of user preferences. As such, toolbar customizations can seemingly be 'lost' if the user is running multiple sessions simultaneously as illustrated in the scenario above. They will also be lost when the customizations are created during a session that terminates abnormally.
Losing not only toolbar customizations but also the default toolbars would indicate the user preferences have been corrupted. Or if the user is running multiple sessions, there could be collisions while copying or writing the persisted user preferences, which could potentially corrupt them.
Corrupt user preferences are not easily repaired. It is usually best to manually delete them from the Windows registry using regedit or some other tool. This will reset the application back to its initial as-installed
state with default user preferences.
Resolving the problem
So if you encounter this issue on a Windows operating system please ask your administrator to read this technote carefully and to restore the default toolbars as they were after installing the program. Please note that user defined toolbars cannot be restored once they get corrupted.
On Windows platforms the persisted user preferences can be viewed, exported and imported using regedit. Using 21.0 as an example, they are here:
Deleting this hive will reset the application back to its initial as-installed state with default user preferences.
A working copy of user preferences will look something like this:
The last part is a creation time-stamp.
Make sure there are no running sessions of our application. Then, registry entries like these indicate the application terminated abnormally at some point in the past:
These are working copies of user preferences that have been abandoned. They can be deleted.
**The below steps can only be performed by the Administrator of the Windows machine**
a) First, make sure you have installed 21 FixPack 1 on the Windows computer. Launch Statistics 21 and click on Help - About. When you see release entry 22.214.171.124 on this dialog then you have installed the FixPack 1 already.
When you see release entry 126.96.36.199 it is absolutely necessary to download 21 FixPack1 first and install it.
b) Close Statistics 188.8.131.52
c) Click on Start - All Programs - Accessories - Run
d) On Run facility type regedit.
e) Go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\JavaSoft\Prefs\com\ibm\/S/P/S/S\/Statistics
On computers where release 21 is installed you see for example entries like
If you like you can right click on
and click 'export' and save this key as .reg file (registration file) on the desktop to copy the original key.
f) Next, right click on all the keys shown above that begin with 21.
Delete them all. This will NOT destroy your Statistics 184.108.40.206 installation
What will happen is that all settings are reset to the default when you launch the program: this means all settings on Edit - Options are set to default as they was after installation of the software. You will also have no entries on recently used files anymore.
g)Close the registry.
h) Launch 220.127.116.11 while still logged on as Administrator and see if the default toolbar for the data Editor is restored.Then open a new Syntax Editor and a new Viewer window and see if all toolbars are displayed. Close Statistics 18.104.22.168
i) Log on as the user of this Windows machine, launch Statistics 22.214.171.124 as user and verify if the toolbars are restored to default values for the user as well.
On Mac the toolbars may be reset by deleting the following files:
If simply removing these files and running the program new does not resolve the issue you may need to remove them and reinstall the program.