HSM for Windows reconciliation might erroneously delete files on the TSM server
Tivoli Storage Manager (TSM) HSM for Windows reconciliation might erroneously delete copies of migrated files on the TSM server. Fixes are available.
HSM for Windows reconciliation might erroneously delete copies of migrated files on the TSM server. The files are recoverable only if they were backed up before they were migrated. If the TSM Backup-Archive client is used to back up the HSM managed file systems, and HSM for Windows option "Backup files before migration" is enabled, then the files should be recoverable. "Backup files before migration" is the default setting.
This problem can only occur when reconciliation was run while one of the affected levels (listed below) was installed. Other levels of HSM for Windows do not cause this problem.
This problem is described by APAR IC74413.
Affected levels and fixing levels:
HSM for Windows Release
First fixing level
(click for download page)
220.127.116.11 and 18.104.22.168
- If you are currently using reconciliation with one of the affected levels:
- Immediately unconfigure reconciliation
- Install a fixing level as soon as possible
- Reconfigure reconciliation
- If you are not using reconciliation, but one of the affected levels is installed, then install a fixing level as soon as possible.
- If you have ever used reconciliation with one of the affected levels:
1. Run the HSM for Windows
dsmReconConverter command for each file system where reconciliation with an affected HSM for Windows level was used. This command will help determine whether any files were affected by this problem.
- Migrated files were expired as described in Flash HSM for Windows migrated files may expire after 365 days
- Individual files were deleted by a user or process external to TSM
- The file space on the TSM server that contained the migrated files was deleted by the TSM server administrator
- No further action is needed if both of these conditions are true:
- One of the affected levels is not currently installed
- You have never used reconciliation with one of the affected levels
The command syntax is:
where < vol_mount_path > is the drive letter or volume mount point of an HSM managed file system.
Run dsmReconConverter on drive
E: that is managed by HSM:
dsmreconconverter e: -filesp all
Run dsmReconConverter on volume
F:\Mounted Volumes\Vol02 that is managed by HSM:
dsmreconconverter "F:\Mounted Volumes\Vol02" -filesp all
Potentially affected files will be reported in log file dsmreconconverter-orphan.log. This file is located in the logs subdirectory of the HSM for Windows product installation path, usually C:\Program Files\Tivoli\TSM\hsmclient. If dsmreconconverter does not find any orphans, then the file system is not affected by this problem.
Note: Orphaned files might be listed in dsmreconconverter-orphan.log for reasons not related to the problem discussed in this flash. Other possible reasons include, but are not necessarily limited to:
2. If dsmReconConverter identified affected files, you can restore these files if the files were backed up before they were migrated. If you backed up the files with the TSM Backup-Archive client, then use the following command to restore each file:
Replace < file_name > with the fully qualified name of a file to restore.
dsmReconConverter found that file
E:\m_dir\ms_subdir\tfile.txt was affected:
dsmc restore e:\m_dir\ms_subdir\tfile.txt -replace=yes -restoremigstate=no
Note: The file is restored to its resident state. That is, the file content and attributes are restored. Ensure that sufficient space exists for the restored files.
More support for:
Tivoli Storage Manager HSM for Windows
Software version: 5.5, 6.1
Operating system(s): Windows 2003 server, Windows 2008 server
Reference #: 1580717
Modified date: 27 June 2012