Sametime contacts have unknown status with a question mark icon
Sometimes the Sametime awareness status of a user is visible as a question mark in your contact list. How does it happen and how can it be controlled or configured. Apart from the question mark icon, you might also see a warning message stating the the number of your contacts from the server community exceeds the number that can be monitored for availability.
Sometimes the Sametime awareness status of a user is visible as a question mark in your contact list.
Apart from the question mark icon, you might also see the warning message stating the the number of your contacts from the server community exceeds the number that can be monitored for availability. as shown in the 2nd picture.
How does it arise and how can it be controlled or configured.
The status that is shown in with the question mark sign is "unknown". This could be triggered when the watch limit on the server side is exceeded. The watch limit is something that defines max number of people that can be watched by the name resolver.
For example, if a server has it set as something like 500, when the threshold is reached, the status of the extra livenames are not monitored and the "unknown" status may return when a look up is requested (like in the card).
It is controlled by the following parameter in plugin_customization.ini:
After you see when the "unknown" status shows up, and that if the user deletes some contacts from his contact list, the unknown status should change to real status.
And for the warning message see the following parameter in plugin_customization.ini:
It is used so that when the watch limit is in effect, specifies whether or not to warn user when the number of contacts that can be monitored is exceeded.
On server side threshold is defined in sametime.ini by the following parameter:
It is used by clients in order to enforce the limit on the client side. When a user exceeds this threshold, and add the threshold+1 subscription to his watch list, the Buddylist detects it, and notify the client that
he won't get awareness on the new name that was added to the watch list before decreasing the total number of subscriptions.
Also see the following link from link from Sametime infocenter on the same:
More support for:
Software version: 8.0.2, 8.5, 8.5.1
Operating system(s): Linux, OS X, Windows
Software edition: Entry, Standard
Reference #: 1425584
Modified date: 28 November 2013
Translate this page: