Disabling and re-enabling Notes roaming user status on the fly
Notes and Domino 8.5.2 introduces enhancements that enable an administrator to disable and re-enable roaming user status using a combination of NOTES.INI settings. This enables users working across low band width or otherwise slow Internet connection to temporarily disable their roaming status and more quickly access a target Notes application, view, or document, including their Mail inbox. Roaming user status can also be set either to remain disabled or to be re-enabled at subsequent Notes start-up.
CAUTION: As administrator, in general, avoid encouraging users to edit NOTES.INI settings , unless performance requires you to do so; make sure the user understands the setting changes, and if the changes are temporary, restore defaults as soon as possible.
The following NOTES.INI settings are introduced in Notes 8.5.2 for disabling and then subsequently re-enabling roaming.
- DisableRoaming=0 (roaming processing is not disabled)
- DisableRoaming=1 (roaming processing is disabled)
This enhancement addresses the following use cases:
- The administrator has enabled an existing user for roaming (no roaming data on server yet) and user does not want to be prompted for any roaming processing.
- The administrator registers a new user as a roaming user and wants to set up a client without going through roaming setup.
- The user is already roaming on a machine and the administrator wants to disable roaming for the user.
- The user is already roaming (has roaming data on the server) and the administrator wants to disable roaming setup while setting up a Notes client on a new machine.
- The user is configured as a roaming user and has completed Notes client setup with DisableRoaming=1 in the NOTES.INI file -- the user wants to re-enable roaming -- the user will be prompted to enable roaming after DisableRoaming=0 is set in notes.ini.
- A user is already roaming on a machine that has DisableRoaming=1 in the NOTES.INI, and the administrator downgrades the user to non-roaming status. The user is not prompted that she or he has been downgraded until the administrator sets DisableRoaming=0.
What happens when DisableRoaming=1 is set
If you are enabled as a Notes roaming user and subsequently DisableRoaming=1 is added to your NOTES.INI file, when you restart Notes, roaming will be disabled as follows:
Java settings will not roam and startup replication of the roamingdata.nsf will not occur.
-- Roaming data will not be restored on startup.
-- Roaming data will not be collected on shutdown.
Replication of roaming-enabled Notes databases will be disabled in the replication page.
-- All items in the roaming folder appear as unchecked.
-- Databases in the roaming folder and/or items selected in the roaming folder will not replicate even if selected to replicate.
Resynchronization of roaming data after replication will be disabled, including the following:
-- Workspace roaming
-- NOTES.INI settings roaming
-- User dictionary
When you start the Notes client you are treated as a non-roaming user.
Roaming data cleanup processing occurs (Notes multi-user install only)
- If you are not enabled as a Notes roaming user and the setting DisableRoaming=1 is added to your NOTES.INI file, the following occurs when you restart Notes:
You will not be prompted for upgrade to roaming user status on the first machine (if you do not have roaming files on the server).
- No roaming clients for which you may have been configured for roaming will be downgraded to non-roaming when/if the administrator downgrades you from roaming to non-roaming.
Setting DisableRoaming=0 will re-enable roaming as follows:
- All roaming functions will be restored if you were enabled as a Notes roaming user before DisableRoaming=1 was added to your NOTES.INI file.
- You will be prompted for upgrade to roaming user if you were not enabled as a Notes roaming user before DisableRoaming=1 was added to your NOTES.INI file.