Controlling the use of the Delete function in ClearCase Explorer

Technote (FAQ)


Question

How can I to limit the use of the Delete function from within IBM® Rational® ClearCase® Explorer and ClearCase Remote Client (CCRC)?

Answer

The Delete function within ClearCase Explorer and CCRC can be used in two different ways resulting in the same affect:

  1. Use of the Delete key on the keyboard

  2. Use of the Delete content menu:

The Delete function in either case performs a cleartool rmname, which removes that element from the directory version.



Example Trigger

To prevent users from over using the Delete function or to control its usage, create a trigger in each VOB that will prevent the rmname operation from running.


    cleartool mktrtype -element -all -preop rmname -nuser vobadmin -nc -exec "ccperl -e die() " NO_RMNAME


Documentation

Review the IBM Rational ClearCase Command Reference on the topic of mktrtype (cleartool man mktrtype) for more details.

Related information

How to undo the rmname operation
About cleartool rmname and checkouts
About removing elements from CCRC

Cross reference information
Segment Product Component Platform Version Edition
Software Development Rational ClearCase ClearCase Remote Client (CCRC)
Software Development Rational ClearCase GUI: ClearCase Explorer
Software Development Rational ClearCase ClearCase Remote Client (CCRC)

Rate this page:

(0 users)Average rating

Document information


More support for:

Rational ClearCase
GUI: ClearCase Explorer

Software version:

7.0, 2003.06.00

Operating system(s):

Windows

Reference #:

1146314

Modified date:

2008-01-09

Translate my page

Machine Translation

Content navigation