Moving Rational ClearQuest databases

Technote (FAQ)


Question

When moving IBM Rational ClearQuest databases to new locations, what are the Rational ClearQuest utilities that should be used to perform the actual move?

Cause

Database vendor utilities do not preserve or update the internal database settings used by Rational ClearQuest.

Answer

The Rational ClearQuest move utilities copy the original databases to new target databases, which can be on the same server or another database vendor server. Whether you change database vendors or versions or not, the original Rational ClearQuest databases are preserved. The original databases are locked by Rational ClearQuest to prevent users from using them inadvertently.

Before you actually move any databases, you should:

  1. Make sure all schemas are checked in.

  2. Backup all current Rational ClearQuest databases.

  3. If you are using IBM DB2, Microsoft SQL Server or Oracle as target database, create new, empty databases and logins on the target server. One new database for each database to be moved. They will hold the moved databases.

  4. Make sure all Rational ClearQuest users, both Designer and Client users, are logged off and not using Rational ClearQuest until the move is complete. Also stop any Rational ClearQuest Mail Reader services that are running.


The following steps summarize how to move your Rational ClearQuest master and user databases:
  1. Move the master database first:
    1. From any machine with Rational ClearQuest installed open the Rational ClearQuest Maintenance Tool as admin from the Start menu.

    2. Select the connection to your master database and chose the option in the menu Schema Repository > Move. Follow through the dialogs (You must be Administrator of Rational ClearQuest to do this) and specify the properties of the new master database.

    3. This Rational ClearQuest machine will be configured automatically to use the new master database after the move.

    4. Each of the Rational ClearQuest client machines must run their Maintenance Tool and connect to the new master database. Or you can export the profile and send the cqprofile.ini to the other users who can import it to get the new connection parameters to your new master database. If using UNIX or Linux, run the cqreg command (drop_dbset / add_dbset) to connect to the new master database. For help with the cqreg command, refer to technote 1320850.

  2. Then move each user database:
    1. From the same Rational ClearQuest machine as in step 1 open Rational ClearQuest Designer.

    2. In Rational ClearQuest Designer 7.0.x and previous versions, select Database > Move User Database. In Rational ClearQuest Designer 7.1.x or 8.x, open the ClearQuest Database Admin view.

    3. Select the user database you want to move.

    4. In Rational ClearQuest Designer 7.0.x and previous versions, click the Properties button. In Rational ClearQuest Designer 7.1.x or 8.x, right click on the selected database and select the Move Database option.

    5. Change the database properties to reflect the new database information.

    6. Click on Move or Finish, depending on the version of Rational ClearQuest in use.

    7. A message will indicate that the properties have been changed.

    Repeat step 2 for each user database you want to move.

    Each move is actually a copy of the original database. The original databases in step 1 and 2 will be locked by Rational ClearQuest to prevent users from using them inadvertently.

    To unlock the original databases after the move is completed refer to technote 1133810.

    After all databases being moved and the users pointing to the new master database (step 1d), users can begin using Rational ClearQuest again.

    NOTE: The time to complete the move depends on several factors, such as network architecture, server performance, size of the databases, etc.

    Here is a 10 minute video that explains this process from IBM Education Assistant:


    BACKING UP FILES

    Always make database back-ups of your schema repository and user databases prior to making schema changes and performing database upgrades. Failure to create back-up copies can limit your ability to recover from an upgrade failure, design change issues or other unforeseen failures.

    Related information

    A Japanese translation is available
    A simplified Chinese translation is available
    A Korean translation is available

    Rate this page:

    (0 users)Average rating

    Document information


    More support for:

    Rational ClearQuest
    Designer - Database Administration

    Software version:

    7.0, 7.0.1, 7.1, 7.1.1, 7.1.2, 8.0

    Operating system(s):

    Windows

    Reference #:

    1119495

    Modified date:

    2012-10-09

    Translate my page

    Machine Translation

    Content navigation