IBM Support

Syslog / Syslogd in PASE for IBM i



This document provides basic information about syslog and syslogd as it pertains to PASE on IBM i OS.


IBM i OS; Portable Application Solutions Environment (PASE)

Resolving The Problem

The syslog API is used on UNIX systems to log messages regarding system operation. Messages sent using syslog are received by a syslogd daemon running in the background on a local system. The syslogd daemon routes the messages to a destination described by a configuration file. Messages can be logged locally or routed to another system across the network.

The syslog API and the associated syslogd daemon are provided on IBM i using the PASE for i runtime. The syslogd daemon needs to be manually configured and started to be used.

The syslog API is described in the AIX Information Center at the following URL:

The configuration of the syslogd daemon is described in the AIX Information Center at the following URL: 

One deviation from this documentation is that the syslogd configuration file on IBM i is named /QOpenSys/etc/syslog.conf, versus /etc/syslog.conf and must be created (it does not exist by default).

The IBM i operating system does not log system operation messages using the syslog API. 5250 green screen, ftp, iSeries Navigator, and other native IBM i connections will not be logged using syslog. IBM i object authorization errors will not be logged to by syslog either. IBM i logs these types of messages using facilities such as the QSYSOPR message queue and the QAUDJRN security audit journal. Some programs ported to IBM i (such as OpenSSH) will log messages to both syslog and an IBM i facility. There are third-party products available to capture and resend IBM i system operation messages using syslog. For example:

o The syslog-ng Agent for IBM i:

o Townsend Security Solutions Alliance LogAgent: and search for LogAgent

o PowerTech Interact:

o SafeStone iConnect

If the syslogd daemon is not running when the syslog API is used, the system routes message priorities LOG_EMERG, LOG_ALERT and LOG_CRIT to the *REQUESTER message queue (in other words, QSYSOPR for batch jobs, or the user's message queue for an interactive job). LOG_ERR and LOG_WARNING priorities are sent to the joblog as *DIAG messages. LOG_NOTICE, LOG_INFO, and LOG_DEBUG are sent to the joblog as *INFO messages.

The logging priorities used by syslog can be found in the following include file:


and are noted below:

/* Priorities (these are ordered - smaller number is a higher priority) */
#define LOG_EMERG   0    /* system is unusable */
#define LOG_ALERT   1    /* action must be taken immediately */
#define LOG_CRIT    2    /* critical conditions */
#define LOG_ERR     3    /* error conditions */
#define LOG_WARNING 4    /* warning conditions */
#define LOG_NOTICE  5    /* normal but signification condition */
#define LOG_INFO    6    /* informational */
#define LOG_DEBUG   7    /* debug-level messages */

Cross reference information
Product Component Platform Version Edition
IBM i 7.2
IBM i 7.1
IBM i 7.3

Historical Number


Document information

More support for: IBM i

Component: Programming (Languages- compilers- tools)

Software version: 5.1.0, 5.2.0, 5.3.0, 5.3.5, 5.4.0, 5.4.5, 6.1.0, 6.1.1, 7.1, 7.2, 7.3

Reference #: N1013082

Modified date: 11 February 2019