System z Events

IBM z13 and Java 8: Taking Java to new heights on z Systems

Webcast: May 21, 2015, 11:00 a.m. EDT / 3:00 p.m. GMT / 4:00 p.m. BST

Highlights

Topics include:

Speaker: Marcel Mitran, Senior technical staff member, z Systems

Broadcast Date: May 21, 2015, 11:00 a.m. EDT / 3:00 p.m. GMT / 4:00 p.m. BST
Developed for: Enterprise architects and software developers
Technical level: Basic


Java is a critically important language for IBM z Systems because it is used pervasively on the platform for everything from traditional transaction processing and data serving to emerging cloud, analytics and mobile workloads. The combination of IBM z13 and Java 8 takes Java performance to new heights. By taking advantage of Java workloads on z Systems, you can improve overall CPU cost and performance.

Join us for a complimentary webinar with Marcel Mitran who will explain the combined benefits of Java 8 and z13. Features such as single-instruction multiple-data vector engine, simultaneous multithreading and improved CP Assist for Cryptographic Function, are providing up to two times the improvement in throughput per-core for security-enabled applications and up to 50 percent improvement for other generic applications. He will explain how you can use your existing investments in mainframe applications and data, while delivering high performing modern Java based workloads through channels such as cloud and mobile.

Join us after the webcast for a live question-and-answer session. This webcast will also be available for replay after the event.

Upcoming Events

Twitter updates from IBM System z Events

SystemZEvents